TCCFUI is a coalition of more than 65 Texas municipalities dedicated to protecting and supporting the interests of the citizens and cities of Texas with regard to utility issues. The Coalition is comprised of large municipalities and rural villages. TCCFUI monitors the activities of the United States Congress, the Texas Legislature, the Public Utility Commission of Texas, the Texas Railroad Commission, and the Federal Communications Commission on utility issues of importance to cities.

Our Purpose and History


  • To provide representation for member cities at all venues where cities have a
    vested interest in utility issues;
  • To educate the staff of member cities;
  • To participate in, and influence the results of legal, legislative and regulatory activity affecting the rights of cities with respect to utility and rights-of-way issues;
  • To develop model ordinances;
  • To provide technical assistance to the membership;
  • To establish an active role in the development of telecommunications policy at the Local, State and Federal level;
  • To provide other services as may be determined by the membership.


On February 16, 1996, over one hundred representatives of cities from the service areas of virtually every investor owned electric, gas, and telephone utility in Texas met in Austin. Two weeks later, on March 1, 1996, a newly created Board of Directors met in Dallas, at Love Field. TCCFUI — originally known as Texas Coalition of Cities on Franchised Utility Issues (but now officially known as Texas Coalition of Cities For Utility Issues) — was formed. Its mission: to coordinate cities’ responses to changing developments in telecommunications and utility law.

What We Do

Seminars & Workshops

TCCFUI offers seminars and workshops to members when significant utility issues arise. TCCFUI is committed to keeping its members informed with one-day workshops and comprehensive seminars. In addition, presentations are offered free to members at Board Meetings.


Through its extensive automated email system, TCCFUI provides timely information to its members regarding state and federal utility regulations, and laws, as they are being developed. When necessary, TCCFUI will take any needed action immediately to protect cities’ interests, and keep members informed of the progress.

Telecom & Cable

FCC Rulemaking & Issues

TCCFUI actively monitors the Federal Communications Commission and opposes FCC efforts to restrict city franchising rights or limit the use of PEG fees paid by cable providers. TCCFUI files written comments at the FCC to protect and maintain city prerogatives and revenue streams. TCCFUI challenged the FCC’s attempt to pre-empt local zoning authority on wireless antenna siting.

Federal Legislation

TCCFUI is active in monitoring and commenting on various pieces of federal legislation as they affect cities’ rights to receive proper franchise fees, rights-of-way fees, and regulatory authority over electric, telecommunications, and cable providers. It is expected that future issues will include utility, public safety and internet tax issues which will affect cities. This is done in coordination with other national organizations.

PUC Participation

TCCFUI has been actively involved in monitoring and filing comments when appropriate, in various Public Utility Commission of Texas proceedings as they interpret either SB5 or Chapter 283 concerning telecommunication access line fees. Should this activity increase, TCCFUI will be active in providing information to both the legislature and to the Public Utility Commission on these issues.

Participation in National Telecom Initiatives

TCCFUI has provided technical assistance in delivering city messages on telecommunications issues to Members of Congress and the Federal Communications Commission. TCCFUI delivers breaking news on what is happening in Congress and at the FCC on a real-time basis to member cities. TCCFUI will continue its participation at this level to ensure that Texas cities’ interests are represented.

Electric, Gas, & Water Issues

Regulatory Issues

Working in concert with other organizations, TCCFUI has been actively involved in matters related to Electric Resource Advocacy, Reserve Margin and Electric Emergency Response. TCCFUI follows water utility issues and electricity issues at the Public Utility Commission of Texas and gas utility issues at the Railroad Commission of Texas. TCCFUI has been involved in litigation pertaining to a city’s right to exercise control over its public right of way.

Texas Legislature

TCCFUI has been actively involved in every legislative session since 1997. During the 2019 session TCCFUI presented expert testimony at committee hearings, consulted with lawmakers and their staff and coordinated our membership response to pending legislation.

Board Members


Don Knight
City of Dallas

Vice Chair

Tina Paez
City of Houston


Chuong Phung
City of Grand Prairie


David Johnson
City of Arlington

Board Member

Ileana Fernandez
City of Plano

Board Member

Marcella Lunn
City of Denton

Board Member

Trisha Dang
City of Sugar Land

Legislative Liaison

Dorothy Palumbo
Bojorquez Law Firm

Past Chair

Janis Everhart
City of Dallas

ERCOT Liaison 

Nick Fehrenbach
City of Dallas

Energy Committee Chairman 

Phil Boyd

Telecommunications Committee Chairman & Seismic Liaison

Jon Weist
City of Irving

Seminar (Ad Hoc) Committee Chairman

Tina Paez
City of Houston

Texas Coalition of Cities for Utility Issues Member Cities

City of Allen

City of Andrews

City of Arlington

City of Benbrook

City of Bowie

City of Breckenridge

City of Big Spring

City of Bridgeport

City of Brookside Village

City of Brownsville

City of Brownwood

City of Buffalo

City of Canyon

City of Carrollton

City of Cedar Hill

City of Colleyville

City of Conroe

City of Corinth

City of Crockett

City of Dallas

City of Denison

City of Denton

City of Dickinson

City of Electra

City of Fate


City of Fort Worth

City of Frisco

City of Grand Prairie

City of Grapevine

City of Highland Village

City of Houston

City of Huntsville

City of Hurst

City of Irving

City of La Grange

City of Lancaster

City of Levelland

City of Lewisville

City of Los Fresnos

City of Mansfield

City of McAllen

City of Mercedes

City of Mesquite

City of Midlothian

City of Missouri City

City of Newark

City of Nolanville

City of Oak Point

City of Plano

City of Ralls


City of Richardson

City of River Oaks

City of Rosenberg

City of San Saba

City of Seabrook

City of Snyder

City of Spearman

City of Stephenville

City of Sugar Land

City of Sunset Valley

City of Taylor Lake Village

City of Terrell

City of Tyler

City of Waxahachie

City of Webster

City of West University Place


Town of Addison

Town of Fairview

Town of Highland Park

Town of Refugio

Town of Thompsons

Town of Trophy Club

Town of Westlake

Village of Jamaica Beach


Members: 75

Updated: Aug 2, 2023


Contact Us

Board Chairman

Membership Info

Janis Everhart